BIOGEOGRAPHICAL SUB-REGIONS

Through the representative network of Marine Protected Areas in Spain, WWF/ADENA establishes twenty biogeographical sub-regions as units that are differentiated from one another both by their biotic and abiotic characteristics: geomorphology, physical-chemical conditions, flora, fauna and communities.

They are characterised on the basis of the geology and the physical and chemical properties of the marine environment as well as through the

identification of unique landscapes.

Geomorphological and biogenic structures are chosen, such as seamounts, coral reefs, mud volcanoes and sinks that are coupled with higher biomass and species richness values, including greater biological diversity and a greater number of endemisms. These habitats are real hotspots for biodiversity and are home to very fragile ecosystems.

BASIC DATA

Biogeographical Sub-regions

Number of biogeographical sub-regions	20
Total surface area (sq km)	589 218
Average surface area (sq km)	29 461

Governance

Legal framework	Act No. 42/2007, of 13 th December 2008, on the Natural Heritage and Biodiversity
Institutions	 Ministry of Environment and Rural and Marine Affairs Spanish Institute of Oceanography (IEO)
Instruments	•

Sub-region name	sq km
Gulf of Cadiz	40 656
West Strait Flysch zone	12 530
Straits	2 768
Alboran Sea	55 704
Levantine	24 549
Ebro delta	26 207
Gulf of Lions	24 512
Balearic promontory	83 304
Galician bank	32 626
Galician margin	37 067
West-Asturian margin	8 938
Santander – Basque Country	6 742
East-Asturian margin	14 483
French marginal plateau	16 985
Southern banks	41 155
West South	29 072
East South	32 643
West North	24 793
East North	33 180
Northern banks	41 304

